Menu Home

Australia Rolls Out Racing “Championships”


Australia will unveil its version of the North American Breeder’s Cup and Dubai’s World Cup next April. Australia’s Racing NSW and the Australian Turf Club oversee the new event, which will be called The Championships.

The event will consolidate ten existing races, with total prize money exceeding $18 million Australian. $10 million of the total prize comes from racing fees collected by the New South Wales government. A government spokesperson estimated the event could mean more than $40 million to the state’s economy.

The first running of the new series will take place over two Saturdays, April 12 and 19, 2014. Royal Randwick in Sydney will play host track. One of Australia’s most revered race courses, the facility reopened in 2013 after undergoing an extensive renovation.

The Championships meeting will run over two days, featuring eight existing Group 1 races among the ten contests. The richest, the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, will offer $4 million Australian in prizes, and will be run on April 19. Another stakes, the Star Doncaster mile, will be the world’s richest one-mile race, with a prize of $3 million Australian. The Star Doncaster will head the racing programme on April 12.

The event will provide an autumn (in the southern hemisphere) version of the Melbourne Cup, considered Australia’s most important spring racing event.

The ten races are (prizes in Australian dollars):
• The Queen Elizabeth Stakes – $4 million
• The Star Doncaster Mile -$3 million
• The Darley TJ Smith Stakes – $2.5 million
• The BMW Australian Derby – $2 million
• The Sires’ Produce Stakes – $1 million
• The Schweppes Sydney Cup – $1 million
• The Australian Oaks -$1 million
• The Queen of the Turf Stakes -$1 million
• The Royal SoverignSovereign Stakes -$500,000
• Princess Stakes -$500,000


*for other Australian betting opportunities, visit:


Bondi Casino

Fortune Room Casino


Categories: Racing Basics